LibGuides: World Dance Appreciation: Home

General Dance Resources

In the Reading Room

Dance Magazine is the premier magazine for all things dance-related. You can find 3 years back issues in hardcopy in the Reading Room. The library database Academic OneFile contains full-text back to January 1, 1994 (make sure to search within the publication).

Websites

Finally, instead of Googling, try out SweetSearch which uses a filter to limit Google results to credible resources. It excludes spam sites, and marginal sites that read well, but lack academic or journalistic rigor.
Dance Research at the Library of Congress

In the Reference Collection

International Encyclopedia of Dance
Call Number: Ref GV1585 .I586 1998 6 vols
ISBN: 9780195094626
Publication Date: 1998
Although this encyclopedia does not have all the individual dances and countries (Iraq and Kazakhstan specifically), it does contain in-depth explorations of regional dance, including the Middle East and North Africa.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
Call Number: Ref DS35.53 .O96 2009 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9780195305135
Publication Date: 2009

NOTE: Click here for the article on Dance in the Islamic world.

Online Databases

Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
This database might be particularly useful for you to search. It provides information from encyclopedias, books, videos, newspaper articles, images, and more. Tip: Experiment with your search terms: For instance, use the advanced search option and search for two keywords (example: Ardah & Dance)..
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, including Dance Research Journal.(1974-2018). and Dance Research: The Journal of the Society for Dance Research (1983-2020).
Search Tip: Use the Journal Filter on the Advanced Search page to limit Subject areas; for example, American Indian Studies and Anthropology.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Library Catalog

RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.

A keyword search using a broad term will yield the most hits.

When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record.
- Scroll down to Subject(s): and click on a subject heading to find other books with the same subject headings.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

Find Images in the Library Database Britannica ImageQuest

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Access millions of images which are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. To cite an image, choose Database. Then choose the source type that most accurately describes your image (for example: Work of Visual Art OR Photo or Illustration OR Map or Chart).

Find Images on the Internet using Google

Google Images

On your image search results page:

Click on Tools.
Click on Size and choose Large so you get a clear, sharp image for your slide.
Click on Usage Rights and choose Creative Commons Licenses which allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

World Dance Appreciation: Home

General Dance Resources

In the Reading Room

Dance Magazine is the premier magazine for all things dance-related. You can find 3 years back issues in hardcopy in the Reading Room. The library database Academic OneFile contains full-text back to January 1, 1994 (make sure to search within the publication).

Websites

Finally, instead of Googling, try out SweetSearch which uses a filter to limit Google results to credible resources. It excludes spam sites, and marginal sites that read well, but lack academic or journalistic rigor.

Dance Research at the Library of Congress

In the Reference Collection

NOTE: Click here for the article on Dance in the Islamic world.

Online Databases

Library Catalog

RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.

A keyword search using a broad term will yield the most hits.

When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record.

Scroll down to Subject(s): and click on a subject heading to find other books with the same subject headings.

Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

Find Images in the Library Database Britannica ImageQuest

Find Images on the Internet using Google

Google Images

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Get it from the App Store

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

World Dance Appreciation: Home

General Dance Resources

In the Reading Room

Dance Magazine is the premier magazine for all things dance-related. You can find 3 years back issues in hardcopy in the Reading Room. The library database Academic OneFile contains full-text back to January 1, 1994 (make sure to search within the publication).

Websites

Finally, instead of Googling, try out SweetSearch which uses a filter to limit Google results to credible resources. It excludes spam sites, and marginal sites that read well, but lack academic or journalistic rigor.

Dance Research at the Library of Congress

In the Reference Collection

NOTE: Click here for the article on Dance in the Islamic world.

Online Databases

Library Catalog

RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.

A keyword search using a broad term will yield the most hits.

When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record.

Scroll down to Subject(s): and click on a subject heading to find other books with the same subject headings.

Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page

If you have any questions, see Mr. Padgett, Ms. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

Find Images in the Library Database Britannica ImageQuest

Find Images on the Internet using Google

Google Images

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Get it from the App Store

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti