LibGuides: Honors Human Geography: Development and Justice: Resources

Country Profiles / Information

Amnesty International: Countries
Includes reports on human rights practices by country, including issues stemming from unresolved conflicts.
CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook has country profiles from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Global Insights By Country
From Global Edge, a project of Broad School of Business, Michigan State Unversity.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch defends the rights of people in 100 countries worldwide, spotlighting abuses and bringing perpetrators to justice.
Media Bias / Fact Check: Country Profiles
An independent website that rates the bias, factual accuracy, and credibility of media sources. Each country, profile includes the type of Government, who is in charge, and how much the Government controls the media. This is important as the political alignment of the Government may dictate the bias of media in that country. NOTE: This page is in progress so not all countries are yet included.
U.S. Department of State: Countries and Areas
The Department of State advises the President and leads the nation in foreign policy issues. The State Department negotiates treaties and agreements with foreign entities, and represents the United States at the United Nations.
United Nations Country Data
Includes statistical tables, country (area) and regional profiles including, but not limited to: population, education, trade, science and technology, tourism, and many other categories.
World-Newspapers.com
Provides links to newspapers around the world published in English and available for free online.
World Health Organization
Use the drop-down under Countries to select your country.

Helpful Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, such as The Economist (Jan 4, 1992 - present), The Economist (Online) (Sept 26, 2008 - present), Wall Street Journal (Jan. 2, 1984 - present) and the Wall Street Journal (Online) (2010-present). NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Get the latest news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world, including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural, and environmental information.
Access World News -- Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of credible, global news sources from more than 200 countries and territories.
TIP: Sort results by BEST MATCH.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Issues Based Sources

The resources listed below are designed to give both background and current information for a wide range of current topics of note. The beauty of these sources is the way they integrate reference materials (for overview and context) along with a diverse range of secondary and primary sources to allow you, the researcher, to quickly generate an informed opinion on the major issues facing the world.

Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics, Global Issues has more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries providing background and guidance on topics of global concern. Global Issues can be searched together with Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/gic
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints, covering today's hottest social issues, is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/ovic
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Designed to inspire thought-provoking debates, each in-depth article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias. Updated weekly with key facts, arguments, history, primary sources, news editorial content, media, and current context of today’s most important issues.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher delivers diverse perspectives on today’s complex social issues with relevant, credible information from more than 2000 international sources..
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Reliable News Organizations

NOTE: News organizations have been included in this list based on a cross comparison of a number of analyses of media bias and accuracy including (but not limited to) allsides.com, adfontesmedia.com, and mediabiasfactcheck.com.

Hover your mouse over the "i" icon for a description of each source.

AP (Associated Press) The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting.
BBC News BBC News is a British free-to-air television news channel run by the British Broadcasting Corporation.
BNO News BNO News is an international news agency headquartered in Tilburg, the Netherlands. It provides news wire services to companies. The acronym BNO stands for BreakingNewsOn.
Christian Science Monitor The Christian Science Monitor, commonly known as The Monitor, is a nonprofit news organization that publishes daily articles in electronic format as well as a weekly print edition.
Financial Times The Financial Times is an international daily newspaper printed in broadsheet and published digitally that focuses on business and economic current affairs.
Reuters Reuters is an international news organization owned by Thomson Reuters. It employs some 2,500 journalists and 600 photojournalists in about 200 locations worldwide. The agency was established in London in 1851 by the German-born Paul Reuter.
United Nations: UN News Using the "Topics" links at the top of the page can help narrow down the news into your area of interest.