Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


U.S. History: Exploring Groups: How did WWII change America?: Images

ABOUT IMAGES

It's so easy to find images on the internet, but that doesn't mean that you can freely use them without the permission of the creator / owner of the image, be it a photographer, an artist, a museum or other group, organization, or institution. Use the resources we provide below to find images you can freely use in your project.

If you're not sure about the usage rights of an image, please ask us for assistance!

Please note: primary source documents and images are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.

Find Images in Online Subscription Databases

Start with Britannica ImageQuest when searching for images.

ImageQuest provides access to millions of images which are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. 

 

Images in the following subscription databases may also be used and must be cited:

Find Images Using Google

Google Images 

On your image search results page:

  • Click on Tools.
  • Click on Size and choose Large so you get a clear, sharp image for your slide.
  • Click on Usage Rights and choose Creative Commons Licenses which allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.

Best Practices for Attribution with examples; from Creative Commons.

Citing Images and Video in NoodleTools

NOTE: An image is cited on the slide upon which it appears rather than in the bibliography at the end of your project.

To cite an image , choose the option that best describes where you found it: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Britannica ImageQuest.
  • Website =  a website like Digital Public Library of America.
  • Print or In-Hand = a print book or reference source containing a chart, graph, or table.

Next you will choose the type of image you are citing. For instance, a cartoon or comic strip, map or chart, photo or illustration, or work of visual art.

  • To download an image, right click on the image and choose "Save image as". (On a MacBook, hold down Ctrl and click = right click) 
  • To get the permanent URL of the image for your citation, right click on the image and choose "Copy image address".

 

To cite an video clipchoose the option that best describes where you found it: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Classroom Video on Demand.
  • Website =  a website like YouTube.

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!