Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Senior Research and Composition: Biographical Research Project: Journal Articles & Taft Subscription Databases

Journal Articles

What are Journals and Journal Articles?

A journal (also known as an academic journal or scholarly journal)  is essentially a collection of peer-reviewed research papers written by scholars for scholars. These articles are often long, but they are much shorter than books. Like your research paper, these articles will contain notes (either footnotes or endnotes) and a bibliography of resources including other journal articles, books / monographs, and web resources.

Tips for reading a journal article:

  • Read the abstract if provided. The abstract will summarize the contents of the paper.
  • Read the introductory paragraph; it will include the author's thesis statement.
  • Read the first sentence of each subsequent paragraph. This will help you identify the most relevant parts of the article.
  • Read the conclusion.
  • Skim the bibliography to identify additional resources for your research paper.

Journal Article Databases

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

These Databases Also Contain Journal Articles

The following Gale databases also contain journal articles. Just look for "Academic Journals" in the gray menu bar beneath the introductory article.

For additional databases containing journal articles, click here: Taft Online Subscription Databases: Journal Articles

Tips for Citing Journal Articles in NoodleTools

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

Citations may be directly exported to NoodleTools from the following journal databases

  • Academic OneFile
  • Academic Search Complete
  • JSTOR

To cite a Journal article, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it: 

  • Database = an article found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Academic Search Complete.
    • You can export citations from many of our databases. Look for the Resource Allows NoodleTools Export  next to the database name.
  • If you cannot export the citation, go to NoodleTools, choose Database and then Journal.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, Citable Link. 
  • Website = a full-text journal article found through a search engine such as Google.
  • Print or In Hand = a print journal found in the library's Reading Room.

Next you will choose what type of source you are citing. In this case, Journal.

A journal article citation has 2 parts:

  • information about the article you used: author, title of article, and page numbers if available.
  • information about the journal as a whole: title of the journal, volume and issue numbers, and date of publication.

If you have any questions about citing journal articles, 

see (or email) Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti.