Skip to main content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS Taft Google Drive
TaftNet
Taft Calendar
Our Periodicals List
Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
Add a Network Printer
Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
Access the Papyrus
Download Audiobooks
Find and Evaluate Websites
Find Primary Sources
Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Foundations: Islamic Empires and Civilizations: Reserve Books

Reserve books must be signed out and are for use IN THE LIBRARY ONLY for duration of project.

See NoodleTools citation tips at the bottom of the page.

PS = contains primary source materials

Islam and Islamic History (These books include multiple empires)

  • The adventures of Ibn Battuta, a Muslim traveler of the 14th century / Ross E. Dunn. D93 .I24 D86 1986  (also an online ebook)
  • An age of empires, 1200-1750 / Marjorie Wall Bingham.  D202 .B46 2005  PS
  • Destiny disrupted: a history of the world through Islamic eyes / Tamin Ansary. DS35.63 .A57 2009
  • A history of Islamic societies /  Ira M. Lapidus. DS35.63 .L37 2014
  • Islam / Karen Armstrong. BP50 .A69 2000
  • Islam / Seyyed Hossein Nasr. BP163 .N2813 2002
  • Islam / Philip Wilkinson. BP161.3 .W55 2002
  • Islam : from the Prophet Muhammad to the capture of Constantinople / edited by Bernard Lewis. DS36.855 .I77 1987  2 vols PS
  • Islam in the Indian Ocean world: a brief history with documents / Omar H. Ali. BP 64 .A32 A45 2016  PS
  • Islamic empires: the cities that shaped civilization from Mecca to Dubai / Justin Marozzi. DS36.855 M37 2020
  • Islamic imperialism: a history / Efraim Karsh. BP52 .K37 2006
  • The legacy of Islam / edited by Thomas Arnold and Alfred Guillaume. D199.3 .A7
  • Marco Polo and the medieval explorers / Rebecca Stefoff. G370.P9 S74
  • The medieval and early modern world: primary sources and reference volume / [compiled by] Donald R. Kelley and Bonnie G. Smith. D101.2 .M34 2005  PS
  • The Oxford history of Islam. BP50 .O95 1999
  • Religious transformations in the early modern world: a brief history with documents / Merry E. Wiesner-Hanks. BR252 .W54 2009  PS
  • Travels of Ibn Battuta / edited by Tim Mackintosh-Smith. G370 .I2 T8513 2003 PS
  • The venture of Islam / Marshall G. S. Hodgson.   (also an online ebook)

PS = contains primary source materials

Almoravid (a Berber dynasty)

  • African empires / J. P. Martin. DT20 .M37 2016 v.2
  • A history of Islamic societies / Ira M. Lapidus. DS35.63 .L37 2014
  • Defining boundaries in Al-Andalus: Muslims, Christians, and Jew in Islamic Iberia / Janina M. Safran (an online ebook)
  • The history of northern Africa / ed. by Amy McKenna (an online ebook)
  • The Horizon concise history of Spain / Melveena McKendrick. DP66 .M25
  • Islamic empires: the cities that shaped civilization from Mecca to Dubai / Justin Marozzi. DS36.855 M37 2020
  • Kingdoms of faith: a new history of Islamic Spain / Brian A. Catlos. DP102 .C38 2018
  • Medieval west Africa: views from Arab scholars and merchants / ed. by Nehemia Levtzion and Jay Spaulding. DT476 .M43 2003  PS
  • A vanished world: medieval Spain's golden age of enlightenment / Chris Lowney. DP99 .L695 2005

PS = contains primary source materials

Caliphate of Cordoba (Cordova)

  • Caliphs and kings: Spain, 796-1031 / Roger Collins. DP99 .C584 2012
  • Cities of destiny / edited by Arnold Toynbee. G140 .T69 1967 (Oversize book)
  • The Black Death: the great mortality of 1348-1350: a brief history with documents / John Aberth. RC178 .A1 A24 2005  PS
  • A history of Islamic societies / Ira M. Lapidus. DS35.63 .L37 2014
  • The Horizon concise history of Spain / Melveena McKendrick. DP66 .M25
  • Islamic empires: the cities that shaped civilization from Mecca to Dubai / Justin Marozzi. DS36.855 M37 2020
  • Kingdoms of faith: a new history of Islamic Spain / Brian A. Catlos. DP102 .C38 2018
  • The legacy of Islam / Edited by Thomas Arnold and Alfred Guillaume. D199.3 A7
  • The Oxford history of Islam / edited by John L. Esposito. BP50 . O95 1999
  • Spain : a unique history / Stanley G. Payne. DP63 .P1913 2011
  • A vanished world: medieval Spain's golden age of enlightenment / Chris Lowney. DP99 .L695 2005 

PS = contains primary source materials

Delhi Sultanate and Mughal

  • The adventures of Ibn Battuta, a Muslim traveler in the 14th century / Ross E. Dunn. G93 .I24 D86 1986 (also an online ebook)
  • The Asian world, 600-1500 /Roger V. Des Forges and John S. Major. DS33.5 .D47 2005
  • Cities of destiny / edited by Arnold Toynbee. G140 .T69 1967 (Oversize book)
  • Concise history of modern India / Barbara D. Metcalf and Thomas R. Metcalf. DS461 .M47 2012
  • Cultural history of India / edited by A. L. Basham. DS423 .C86
  • Historic India / Lucille Schulberg and the Editors of Time-Life Books. DS423 .S33
  • The history of India / John McLeod. DS 463 .M224 2015 (also an online ebook)
  • A history of Islamic societies / Ira M. Lapidus. DS35.63 .L37 2014
  • India / Stanley Wolpert. DS407 .W56
  • India: a history / John Keay. DS451 .K365 2000
  • India: a modern history / Percival Spear. DS436 .S68 1972
  • India before Europe / Catherine B. Asher and Cynthia Talbot. DS452 .A84 2006
  • Islam: a short history / Karen Armstrong. BP50 . A69 2000
  • Islam in the Indian Ocean world: a brief history with documents / Omar H. Ali. BP 64 .A32 A45 2016
  • Living architecture: Islamic India / Andreas Volwahsen. NA1502 .V613. PS
  • Marco Polo and the medieval explorers / Rebecca Steffof. G370 .P9 S74
  • Modern India / Percival Griffiths. DS436 .G7
  • Modern South Asia: history, culture, political economy / Sugata Bose and Ayesha Jalal. DS340 .B66 2018
  • The Mughal Empire / John F. Richards. DS461 .R53 2000 (also an online ebook)
  • A new history of India / Stanley Wolpert. DS436 .W66 1982
  • The Oxford history of Islam / edited by John L. Esposito. BP50 .O95 1999
  • Paintings from Mughal India. ND 1337 .I5 F34. PS
  • Religious transformations in the early modern world: a brief history with documents / Merry E. Wiesner-Hanks. BR252 .W54 2009  PS
  • The rise of Islam and the Bengal frontier, 1204-1760 / Richard M. Eaton. (an online ebook)
  • Sources of Indian tradition: from the beginning to 1800 / edited by Ainslie T. Embree. DS423 .S64 1988 vol. 1. PS
  • Travels of Ibn Battuta / edited by Tim Mackintosh-Smith. G370 .I2 T8513 2003   PS

PS = contains primary source materials

Malacca (Melaka)

  • A history of Islamic societies / Ira M. Lapidus. DS35.63 .L37 2014
  • A history of south-east Asia / D. G. E. Hall. DS511 .H15 1964
  • Islam in the Indian Ocean world: a brief history with documents / Omar H. Ali. BP 64 .A32 A45 2016  PS
  • The Oxford history of Islam. BP50 .O95 1999m / ed. by John Esposito. BP50 .O95 1999
  • Empires of the sea / ed. by Rolf Strootman et al. V25 .E47 2020

PS = contains primary source materials

 

Mamluk

  • The adventures of Ibn Battuta, a Muslim traveler of the 14th century / Ross E. Dunn. D93 .I24 D86 1986 (also an online book)
  • The Black Death: the great mortality of 1348-1350: a brief history with documents / John Aberth. RC178 .A1 A24 2005  PS
  • Chronicles of the crusades: eyewitness accounts of the wars between Christianity and Islam / edited by Elizabeth Hallam. D151 PS
  • The Crusades through Arab eyes / Amin Maalouf. DS38.6 M3213 1985  
  • The history of Egypt / Glenn E. Perry. DT100 .P47 2016  (this is on the Revolutions class reserve cart)
  • A history of Egypt from the Arab conquest to the present / Afaf Lufti Al-Sayyid Marsot    (this is on the Revolutions class reserve cart)
  • A history of Islamic societies / Ira M. Lapidus. DS35.63 .L37 2014
  • Islam from the prophet Muhammad to the capture of Constantinople / ed. by Bernard Lewis. DS36 855 .I77 1987
  • Islam in the Indian Ocean world: a brief history with documents / Omar H. Ali. BP 64 .A32 A45 2016  PS
  • The Middle East in the Middle Ages: the early Mamluk sultanate, 1250-1382 / Robert Irwin. (an online ebook)
  • Muslim cities in the later Middle Ages / Ira M. Lapidus (an online ebook)  *all about cities / city life in the Mamluk empire
  • The Oxford history of Islam. BP50 .O95 1999m / ed. by John Esposito. BP50 .O95 1999
  • Soldiers of fortune: the story of the Mamlukes / John Glubb. DT96 .G57 1973
  • The travels of Ibn Battuta / edited by Tim Mackintosh-Smith. G370 .I2 T8513 2003   PS   (earlier edition available online at the Internet Archive)

PS = contains primary source materials

 

 

Mongol (Golden Horde)

  • The adventures of Ibn Battuta, a Muslim traveler of the 14th century / Ross E. Dunn. D93 .I24 D86 1986  (also an online ebook)
  • The Asian world, 600-1500 /Roger V. Des Forges and John S. Major. DS33.5 .D47 2005
  • Chronicles of the crusades: eyewitness accounts of the wars between Christianity and Islam / edited by Elizabeth Hallam. D151  PS
  • Destiny disrupted: a history of the world through Islamic eyes / Tamim Ansary. DS35.63 .A57 2009
  • Empires of the Silk Road: a history of Central Eurasia from the Bronze Age to the present / Christopher Beckwith (an online ebook)
  • A history of Islamic societies / Ira M. Lapidus. DS35.63 .L37 2014
  • Ghengis Khan and the making of the modern world / Jack Weatherford. DS22 .G45 W43 2004
  • History of the Mongols, based on Eastern and Western accounts of the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries / Bertold Spuler. DS19 .S5613 1972
  • Islam: a short history / Karen Armstrong. BP50 . A69 2000
  • Islam: the view from the edge / Richard W. Bullett. BP52 .B85 1994
  • Islamic empires: the cities that shaped civilization from Mecca to Dubai / Justin Marozzi. DS36.855 M37 2020
  • Kublai Khan / Kim Dramer. DS752.6 .K83 D37
  • Kubilai Khan: his life and times / Morris Rossabi  (an online ebook)
  • Marco Polo and the medieval explorers / Rebecca Steffof. G370 .P9 S74
  • The Mongol conquests: timeframe AD 1200-1300 /  The Editors of Time-Life Books. DS19 .M58 1989
  • The Mongol empire: its rise and legacy / Michael Prawdin. DS19 .C522
  • The Mongols / David Morgan. DS19 .M67 1986
  • The Mongols & the Islamic world : from conquest to conversion / Peter Jackson. DS22 .J33 2017
  • The Oxford history of Islam / edited by John L. Esposito. BP50 . O95 1999
  • Travels of Ibn Battuta / edited by Tim Mackintosh-Smith. G370 .I2 T8513 2003  PS
  • The travels of Marco Polo / Marco Polo. G370 .P9 P6713 1982  (earlier edition available online at the Internet Archive )

PS = contains primary source materials

Ottoman

  • The adventures of Ibn Battuta, a Muslim traveler of the 14th century / Ross E. Dunn. D93 .I24 D86 1986 (also an online ebook)
  • The African & Middle Eastern world, 600-1500 / Randall L. Pouwels. DS36.85 .P68 2005
  • An age of empires, 1200-1750 / Marjorie Wall Bingham. D202 .B46 2005
  • Chronicles of the crusades: eyewitness accounts of the wars between Christianity and Islam / edited by Elizabeth Hallam. D151  PS
  • Daily life in the Ottoman Empire / Mehrdad Kia. DR432 .K43 2011
  • Everyday life in Ottoman Turkey / Raphaela Lewis. DR432 .L46 1971
  • History of Europe, 1450-1660 / P. J. Helm. D228 H4 1964
  • A history of Islamic societies / Ira M. Lapidus. DS35.63 .L37 2014
  • A history of the modern Middle East / William L. Cleveland. DS62.4 .C53 2013
  • History of the Ottoman Empire and modern Turkey / Stanford J. Shaw  (an online ebook)
  • Islam: a short history / Karen Armstrong. BP50 . A69 2000
  • Islamic empires: the cities that shaped civilization from Mecca to Dubai / Justin Marozzi. DS36.855 M37 2020
  • Osman's dream: the history of the Ottoman empire / Carolyn Finkel. DR486 .f56 2006
  • The Ottoman Empire : the classical age, 1300-1600 / Halil Inalcik ; translated by Norman Itzkowitz and Colin Imber. DR486 .I51 
  • The Ottomans / Andrew Wheatcroft. DR436 .W44 1993
  • The Oxford history of Islam / edited by John L. Esposito. BP50 . O95 1999
  • Religious transformations in the early modern world: a brief history with documents / Merry E. Wiesner-Hanks. BR252 .W54 2009 PS
  • Travels of Ibn Battuta / edited by Tim Mackintosh-Smith. G370 .I2 T8513 2003  PS

PS = contains primary source materials

Safavid

  • Destiny disrupted: a history of the world through Islamic eyes / Tamim Ansary. DS35.63 .A57 2009
  • The history of Iran / Elton L. Daniel (an online ebook)
  • A history of Islamic societies / Ira M. Lapidus. DS35.63 .L37 2014
  • A history of the modern Middle East / William L. Cleveland. DS62.4 .C53 2013
  • Iran: a country study / Edited by Glenn E. Curtis and Eric Hooglund. DS254.5 .I732 2008 (also available from the Library of Congress at https://www.loc.gov/item/2008011784/)
  • Iran under the Safavids / Roger Savory. DS292 .S26 1988
  • Iran : what everyone needs to know® / Michael Axworthy. DS272 .A945 2017 
  • Islam: a short history / Karen Armstrong. BP50 .A69 2000
  • Islamic empires: the cities that shaped civilization from Mecca to Dubai / Justin Marozzi. DS36.855 M37 2020
  • The Oxford handbook of Iranian history / edited by Touraj Daryaee. DS272 .O94 2012 (also an online ebook)
  • The Oxford history of Islam / edited by John L. Esposito. BP50 .O95 1999
  • Religious transformations in the early modern world: a brief history with documents / Merry E. Wiesner-Hanks. BR252 .W54 2009 PS

PS = contains primary source materials

NoodleTools Citation Tips for Books / eBooks

To cite a book, choose the option that best describes where you found your source: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as an electronic book found in Gale eBooks or American History Online.
    • Choose Book.
    • Provide the permanent URL for the book (look for terms such as permalink, "Get link", Cite).
    • Provide the name of the database, using the pull-down menu).
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Print or In Hand = a book in the Reserve collection behind the main desk or found upstairs in the Main collection.
    • Choose Book.
    • Using information in the book or in the book's record in RhinoCat, enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

Note: Books can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) whether found in a database or in print. For a print book, look for the ISBN and associated barcode on the back cover, usually lower right side.

‚ÄčNEED HELP? PLEASE ASK US!