LibGuides: US History: Constitutional Convention: Resources

RESEARCH YOUR DELEGATE

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
In-depth biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars.
TO CITE: Choose Database and then Original Content in Database.

Meet the Framers of the Constitution
Biographies of all 55 delegates who attended the Constitutional Convention from the National Archives.

RESEARCH THE SYSTEM OF GOVERNMENT

American Government This link opens in a new window
American Government provides a complete, multifaceted examination of the foundations of our government and political system.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

U.S. HISTORY DATABASES

American History This link opens in a new window
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, images, timelines, and more in American political, military, social, and cultural history.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History This link opens in a new window
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
To cite an article in NoodleTools, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Note: ORE sometimes puts complex subjects that involve more than one encyclopedia category into only one database. If you are not retrieving the results you expect, please use this link to search all Research Encyclopdias at once.

SECONDARY and PRIMARY SOURCE BOOKS ON RESERVE

CLICK HERE FOR THE LIST OF BOOKS ON RESERVE
- To ensure equitable access, these books may be used IN THE LIBRARY ONLY.
- You may scan pages using your smartphone - Remember to scan the title page and back of the title page too!
During class time, these books will be freely available on the book truck.
- They do not need to be signed out.
- Please return the books you use to the book truck before leaving the library at the end of class.
Outside of class time, the book truck will be behind the Circulation Desk
- You may sign books out to use in the library only.

RED DOT on book spine means it contains primary sources.

Major Themes at the Constitutional Convention

Prioritizing Secrecy
Improving Continental Governance
Preserving the Power of the Smaller States
Attaining “Stability and Permanency”
Crafting a “Partly National, Partly Federal” Government
Defining Congress’ Powers: The Necessary and Proper Clause
Compromising on the Slave Trade
Establishing the Electoral College and the Presidency
Debating the Limits of the Judiciary: Prior and Constitutional Review
Reinventing the Traditional Principles of Republicanism
George Washington and the Virginia Delegation

From The Constitutional Convention Exhibit at TeachingAmericanHistory.org

PRIMARY SOURCES

At the time, the Constitutional Convention was known as the Federal Convention, the Philadelphia Convention, or the Grand Convention at Philadelphia.

Database containing historical newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers 1690 – 2000 This link opens in a new window
Select "1784-1788: Articles of Confederation Period" in this timeline-based interface. Each issue/event includes an overview, and links to related articles in newspapers of the time.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Print / eBook Reference Source

Documents Decoded: Founding Documents of America
Call Number: REF E203 .V55 2015 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781440839283
Publication Date: 2015
NOTE: Documents through history that influenced the founding fathers in writing the Constitution beginning with Britain's Magna Carta (1215 CE).

Library of Congress

Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774 to 1789
This digital collection contains 277 documents, including extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports and early printed versions of the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.
TIP: Look for LOCATIONS in the left sidebar to find documents from your state. Documents may be downloaded.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

US History: Constitutional Convention: Resources

RESEARCH YOUR DELEGATE

RESEARCH THE SYSTEM OF GOVERNMENT

U.S. HISTORY DATABASES

SECONDARY and PRIMARY SOURCE BOOKS ON RESERVE

CLICK HERE FOR THE LIST OF BOOKS ON RESERVE

RED DOT on book spine means it contains primary sources.

PRIMARY SOURCES

Database containing historical newspapers

Print / eBook Reference Source

Library of Congress

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

US History: Constitutional Convention: Resources

RESEARCH YOUR DELEGATE

RESEARCH THE SYSTEM OF GOVERNMENT

U.S. HISTORY DATABASES

SECONDARY and PRIMARY SOURCE BOOKS ON RESERVE

CLICK HERE FOR THE LIST OF BOOKS ON RESERVE

RED DOT on book spine means it contains primary sources.

PRIMARY SOURCES

Database containing historical newspapers

Print / eBook Reference Source

Library of Congress

If you have any questions, see Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti