LibGuides: The Research Paper: Biography Project: Home

This will allow you to better understand where the specific information you find later fits in the bigger picture.
Make note of terms, also called keywords, relevant to your topic:
- Examples: names of people; important dates; relevant legislation; words or expressions unique to your topic.
You can use these keywords when searching for books and other resources.

Examples of Reference Sources: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search individually or all together the complete content of hundreds of reference books in all disciplines. Browse subject collections in the left sidebar. Use this especially when you are researching a subject that may straddle disciplines to maximize your results.
NOTE: Click on Cite in the menu bar above your article. Copy and paste the full MLA citation into your bibliography.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
More than 650,000 biographies from Gale's vast reference collection as well as related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers.
More than 650,000 biographies from Gale's vast reference collection as well as related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers.
NOTE:Click on Cite in the menu bar above your article. Copy and paste the full MLA citation into your bibliography.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete content of a number of print reference sets, including Great Lives from History and Great Events from History.
TO CITE: Find the article citation at the end of your article. Copy and paste the MLA citation into your bibliography.Copy and paste the full URL of the article over "online.salempress.com".

From Wikipedia:

A statement from MIT Libraries on why we cite our sources:

To show your reader you've done proper research by listing sources you used to get your information.
To be a responsible scholar by giving credit to other researchers and acknowledging their ideas.
To avoid plagiarism by quoting words and ideas used by other authors.
To allow your reader to track down the sources you used by citing them accurately in your paper by way of footnotes, a bibliography or reference list.

Most of our Online Databases provide MLA citations you can copy and paste into your paper if your teacher says you may do so..
You can also use Bibme, Bibguru, EasyBib (or any other electronic citation generator) to create your MLA citations.
Create a Works Cited page for your project using your Taft Google Docs, and add sources by copying and pasting new citations.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library