Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
D BLOCK DEBATE RESOURCES
What event had the biggest impact on US history: The Assassination of Abraham Lincoln OR the Economic Mobilization of the US upon entering WWII?
How to Debate Like a Pro
PBS presents great advice from Georgetown University students who won the 2012 National Debate Tournament.
If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at
We're here to help!
New York Times: 1851-2018
Tip: Choose Advanced Search and limit the date range. For opinion pieces, limit Document Type to Editorial. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
The Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2014
More than 200 years of news in full facsimile images from London's premier newspaper. Tip: Choose Advanced Search and limit by Publication Date. Limit Document Type to Editorial. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Ebook Only Search
Use this search to find only ebooks that can be accessed via our library catalog.
Databases Containing Reference Sources
The world's oldest encyclopedia digitized for the 21st century! In addition to reference articles, it also contains primary sources, journal articles, ebook content, images and video, and links to reliable websites. To cite a reference article, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Online Subscription Databases : American History
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs in American political, military, social, and cultural history. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
American National Biography
Over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars, supplemented by thousands of illustrations and cross references both within the database and to other select websites.
Defining Moments in U.S. History - Factcite
Contains all 36 volumes of the Omnigraphics Defining Moments in U.S. history series. Volumes are accessible from the a-z list of topics or chronologically from the timeline. Each volume is organized into three distinct sections—Narrative Overview, Biographies, and Primary Sources. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Search individually or all together the complete content of hundreds of reference books in all disciplines. Browse subject collections in the left sidebar. Use this especially when you are researching a subject that may straddle disciplines to maximize your results. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: U.S. History
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Issues & Controversies in History
Examines controversial issues in United States and world history, supported by nearly 2000 primary source documents from antiquity to the present. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Simultaneously search 28 Oxford reference encyclopedias in the humanities and social sciences individually or all together. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://youtu.be/GFfkoAAQSec
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: American History
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
Includes the complete content of a number of print reference sets. Search individually or choose any number of these sets to search simultaneously. Sets include: Defining Documents, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, Milestone Documents, and The Reference Shelf.
Journal Article Databases
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Academic Search Complete
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. Limit your search to Full Text and Document Type: Article when looking for articles. Refine your results further by using the additional limiters in the left sidebar of your search results page. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed. It also contains several primary source collections including 19th Century British Pamphlets and over 100,000 ebooks. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
The news of Lincoln’s death reverberated around the world and led to an extraordinary publication by the Department of State in 1866. In addition to the usual diplomatic correspondence published in Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) volumes, a separate volume consisting entirely of condolences was published. The volume, The Assassination of Abraham Lincoln, Late President of the United States of America, and the Attempted Assassination of William H. Seward, Secretary of State, and Frederick W. Seward, Assistant Secretary, on the Evening of the 14th of April, 1865, Collected Correspondence from Every Corner of the Globe.
Find More Websites
You can find additional websites from the domains considered to be more reliable with this search:
"lincoln assassination" AND site:edu OR site:gov
Or, if you're doing the other topic, try:
united states economic mobilization World War II AND site:edu OR site:gov
You can also swap other relevant terms in and out of the search to modify results.
edu = U.S. colleges and universities)
gov = U.S. government departments and agencies)
Books on Reserve at the Circulation Desk
"Right or Wrong, God Judge Me" by
Call Number: E457.5 .B667 1997
Publication Date: 1997
The Arsenal of Democracy by
Call Number: HD9710.U54 B35 2014
Publication Date: 2014
A Call to Arms by
Call Number: D769.2 .K54 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Day Lincoln Was Shot by
Publication Date: 1955
Freedom's Forge by
Call Number: HC106.4 .H467 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The Last Best Hope of Earth by
Call Number: E457 .N49 1993
Publication Date: 1993
The Lincoln Enigma by
Publication Date: 2001
Call Number: E457.5 .S993 2006
Publication Date: 2006
TO BORROW RESERVE BOOKS:
- Use the links above to identify which books you would like to borrow.
- Ask Library Staff at the Circulation Desk for the specific books you would like to use.
- We will retrieve the books from the reserve shelves and sign them out to you. (You may scan pages/chapters using your phone.)
- When you have finished using them or at the end of class, RETURN the books to a Library Staff Member.
Citation tips: choose Print or In Hand and then Book. You can easily cite a book by pasting the ISBN number into the ISBN search field at the top of the Book citation template.