Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
A BLOCK and F BLOCK DEBATE RESOURCES
Two of America's past four presidents — Donald Trump and George W. Bush — were elected president despite losing the popular vote. This result was mainly due to the Electoral College. Should the Electoral College continue to exist in America today?
How to Debate Like a Pro
PBS presents great advice from Georgetown University students who won the 2012 National Debate Tournament.
If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at
We're here to help!
Online Subscription Databases
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints, covering today's hottest social issues, is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, and more. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Issues & Controversies
Designed to inspire thought-provoking debates, each in-depth article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias. Updated weekly with key facts, arguments, history, primary sources, news editorial content, media, and current context of today’s most important issues. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Sirs Issues Researcher
A general database of selected full-text articles on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political, and global issues. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
The following databases also contain useful content:
Academic Search Complete
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. Limit your search to Full Text and Document Type: Article when looking for articles. Refine your results further by using the additional limiters in the left sidebar of your search results page. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
"American Government provides a complete, multifaceted examination of the foundations of our government and political system that supports any curriculum or research project focused on the government of the United States." (From the About page) NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
ResearchIT CT U.S. Major Dailies
Provides full-text access to five major U.S. newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present). NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Balanced news coverage from all sides of the political spectrum. Also includes media bias ratings.
A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania, FactCheck.org aims to reduce the level of confusion in U.S. politics by monitoring the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players.
Owned by Britannica, ProCon.org presents sourced pros and cons of debatable issues, as well as a host of reference information relevant to those issues, thoroughly researched and compiled by our research staff and editors.
Find More Websites
You can find websites from the domains considered to be more reliable with this search:
"electoral college" AND site:edu OR site:gov
You can also swap other relevant terms in and out of the search to modify results.
edu = U.S. colleges and universities)
gov = U.S. government departments and agencies)
Books on Reserve at the Circulation Desk
NOTE: Click on the title link to view the contents of the book.
(You can scan relevant pages / chapters using your phone.)
TO BORROW RESERVE BOOKS:
- Use the links above to identify which books you would like to borrow.
- Ask Library Staff at the Circulation Desk for the specific books you would like to use.
- We will retrieve the books from the reserve shelves and sign them out to you. (You may scan relevant pages / chapters using your phone if you wish.)
- When you have finished using them or at the end of class, RETURN the books to a Library Staff Member.
Citation tips: choose Print or In Hand and then Book. You can easily cite a book by pasting the ISBN number into the ISBN search field at the top of the Book citation template.