Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Constitutional Reference Books
Gun Rights/Gun Control Books
A Well-Regulated Militia by Americans are deeply divided over the Second Amendment. Some passionately assert that the Amendment protects an individual's right to own guns. Others, that it does no more than protect the right of states to maintain militias. Now, in the first and only comprehensive history of this bittercontroversy, Saul Cornell proves conclusively that both sides are wrong.Cornell, a leading constitutional historian, shows that the Founders understood the right to bear arms as neither an individual nor a collective right, but as a civic right--an obligation citizens owed to the state to arm themselves so that they could participate in a well regulated militia. Heshows how the modern "collective right" view of the Second Amendment, the one federal courts have accepted for over a hundred years, owes more to the Anti-Federalists than the Founders. Likewise, the modern "individual right" view emerged only in the nineteenth century. The modern debate, Cornellreveals, has its roots in the nineteenth century, during America's first and now largely forgotten gun violence crisis, when the earliest gun control laws were passed and the first cases on the right to bear arms came before the courts. Equally important, he describes how the gun control battle tookon a new urgency during Reconstruction, when Republicans and Democrats clashed over the meaning of the right to bear arms and its connection to the Fourteenth Amendment. When the Democrats defeated the Republicans, it elevated the "collective rights" theory to preeminence and set the terms forconstitutional debate over this issue for the next century.A Well-Regulated Militia not only restores the lost meaning of the original Second Amendment, but it provides a clear historical road map that charts how we have arrived at our current impasse over guns. For anyone interested in understanding the great American gun debate, this is a mustread.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Gun Control in the United States: a Reference Handbook, 2nd Edition by This up-to-date second-edition work will stimulate and clarify readers' thinking on the key issues surrounding guns in the United States--especially on the debate over gun control. Most public debate and discussion about guns in U.S. society is rarely guided by research--not surprising, as most individuals have a personal opinion on this highly inflammatory topic based on their upbringing or personal experiences. Additionally, most research about gun use in America is confusing and contradictory, making it difficult for citizens to gain much from their attempts to investigate the topic objectively. This book offers concise, understandable coverage of all aspects of the issue, including incidence of gun violence; gun control; gun rights; government regulation, legislation, and court decisions; gun organizations (for gun control and for gun rights); gun enthusiast subcultures--for example, hunters, target shooters, and collectors; and U.S. attitudes toward guns. Many of the covered topics are placed in historical and cross-cultural perspective. The new edition of Gun Control in the United States: A Reference Handbook enables the reader to navigate and interpret the research to become sufficiently educated on any specific aspect of the gun issue to make an informed decision--for example, whether to support stricter or more lenient gun control; whether to become a gun owner; whether to support a particular political party or candidate; or whether to develop or to refine a particular philosophy regarding guns. Other aspects of the contemporary gun debate that are addressed include whether the Supreme Court's ruling that the Second Amendment guarantees an individual right will withstand future challenges, whether the strong gun regulations used in Europe would be effective and applicable in reducing gun violence in the United States, and whether the diversity explosion created by the high rate of immigration from countries where guns are strictly controlled will soon change the politics of the U.S. gun control debate. Provides a balanced view of the contemporary gun debate in the United States, explaining the positions of both gun rights proponents and advocates of stricter gun control without demonizing either Draws on a vast array of research in criminology, history, law, medicine, politics, and social science to provide one of the most comprehensive single-source references on gun issues Presents current and historical data on U.S. gun violence--including homicides, suicides, and accidental shoots--and places these numbers against international statistics on gun violence, thereby providing the context to enable readers to reach their own opinion on the gun debate
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2017-01-23
The Gun Debate by With public perception of gun violence at an all-time high, this new edition is a must-have resource for all libraries. Providing 300-plus entries of in-depth coverage, this encyclopedia is exceptional for its balanced and unbiased approach to this controversial issue.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
Defining Documents in American History: The Gun Debate Beginning with the drafting of the Constitution itself up to the present day, there have been intense arguments made both for and against the rights of citizens to form a "well-regulated militia" as set forth in the Second Amendment. The arguments have become more impassioned in recent years due to the rising number of incidents of school and mass shootings. This volume analyzes documents that have played a significant role in the attempt to balance the long tradition of gun culture in this country with calls for gun control, including: The Second Amendment; St. George Tucker, Blackstone's Commentaries; No Treason by Lysander Spooner; U.S. v. Miller; District of Columbia v. Heller and Firearms in America: Personal Liberty versus Collective Responsibility.
Call Number: Ref KF3941.A68 G86 2019 2 vols (also an online ebook)
Publication Date: 2019
Congressional Research Service Reports
The documents linked below were prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS). CRS serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. It operates solely at the behest of and under the direction of Congress.
The resources in this box are designed to give both background and current information for a wide range of current topics of note. The beauty of these sources is the way they integrate reference materials (for overview and context) along with a diverse range of secondary and primary sources to allow you, the researcher, to quickly generate an informed opinion on the major issues facing the world.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics, Global Issues has more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries providing background and guidance on topics of global concern. Global Issues can be searched together with Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/gic NOTE:
Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints, covering today's hottest social issues, is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/ovic NOTE:
Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Designed to inspire thought-provoking debates, each in-depth article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias. Updated weekly with key facts, arguments, history, primary sources, news editorial content, media, and current context of today’s most important issues.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Sirs Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher delivers diverse perspectives on today’s complex social issues with relevant, credible information from more than 2000 international sources..
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence
Run by advocates for the Brady Bill, this site includes links to laws and legislation at the state and federal level, briefs on the issue, and various special reports.
Coalition to Stop Gun Violence
The Coalition to Stop Gun Violence (CSGV) seeks to secure freedom from gun violence through research, strategic engagement and effective policy advocacy. CSGV is composed of 47 national organizations working to reduce gun violence. Our coalition members include religious organizations, child welfare advocates, public health professionals, and social justice organizations. This diversity of member organizations allows us to reach a wide variety of grassroots constituencies who share our vision of non-violence.
Johns Hopkins Center for Gun Policy and Research
The Center examines the public health effects of guns in society and serves as an objective resource for policy makers, the media, advocacy groups, and the general public.
National Rifle Association (NRA)
Starting with the "Explore" tab, there are links to additional resources on gun control topics, including training and safety, laws and legislation, and policy statements.
Pew Research Center: Guns
Studies on public views about guns
Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence
Made up of the foremost gun law attorneys in the nation, the Law Center tracks and analyzes firearms legislation in all 50 states, files amicus briefs in critical Second Amendment cases across the country, and works with lawmakers and advocates to craft and promote legislation that will reduce gun violence and save lives.
Second Amendment Foundation
The Second Amendment Foundation (SAF) is dedicated to promoting a better understanding about our Constitutional heritage to privately own and possess firearms.
The Sportsmen’s Alliance works to protect and advance the outdoor heritage of hunting, fishing, trapping and shooting in all 50 state legislatures, in the courts, in Congress and at the ballot box.
Students for Concealed Carry
Students for Concealed Carry on Campus is a national, non-partisan, grassroots organization advocating that holders of state-issued concealed handgun licenses should be allowed the same measure of personal protection on college campuses that current laws afford them virtually everywhere else.
Violence Policy Center
The Violence Policy Center (VPC) works to stop gun death and injury through research, education, advocacy, and collaboration. Its approach is to view the issues through a public health perspective.
ATF Data & Statistics
From the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, a comprehensive collection of data from national surveys, state-based surveys, and collected license statistics documenting trends in firearms and commerce.
Childhood Firearm Injuries in the United States
Reports data from the National Survey of Children's Exposure to Violence, presenting a comprehensive analysis of firearm-related deaths and injuries among U.S. children, examining overall patters, patterns by intent, trends, and precipitating circumstances. It concludes that "Firearm injuries are an important public health problem, contributing substantially to premature death and disability of children. Understanding their nature and impact is a first step toward prevention." Published in Pediatrics, June 2017; written by Katherine A. Fowler, Linda L. Dahlberg, Tadesse Haileyesus, Carmen Gutierrez, and Sarah Bacon.
Crime in the United States
From the FBI, an annual publication compiling the volume and rate of violent and property crime offenses for the nation and by state.
From the National Institute of Justice, statistics on prevalence of gun violence, gangs and gun-related homicide, and nonfatal firearms-related crime.
A Study of Active Shooter Incidents in the United States Between 2000 and 2013
FBI study, published September 16, 2013, to provide federal, state, and local law enforcement with data so they can better understand how to prevent, prepare for, respond to, and recover from these incidents. (PDF, 47 pages)