Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Researching Contexts for The Tale of Genji
These databases provide excellent background information from Reference Sources and more:
Ancient and Medieval History
Overview essays, biographies, events and topics, primary source documents, timelines, maps and charts, images and videos on eight ancient and medieval civilizations. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Daily Life Through History
Find Heian Japan as a topic on the homepage of this database that provides detailed reference articles, primary and secondary source material on social history of societies from prehistory to the 21st century.
Grove Art Online
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. To cite an article, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://youtu.be/Dvb6KoOU2Yw
Salem Press Online (All eBooks)
Search the entire Salem ebook collection at once. Titles searched include history resources such as Great Events from History and Great Lives from History, as well as literary reference sources such as Critical Insights.
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras
Covers from antiquity to the 16th century and around the globe from the Islamic world to the Americas; with reference articles, peer-reviewed essays written by scholars, and thousands of primary and secondary sources. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Scholarly Journal Articles may be found in:
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Academic Search Complete
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. Limit your search to Full Text and Document Type: Article when looking for articles. Refine your results further by using the additional limiters in the left sidebar of your search results page. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Full-text scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, many of which are peer-reviewed. JSTOR also contains the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection and more than 100,000 ebooks. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Image and Video Databases
NOTE: Citations for images / video should appear on the same slide as the image/ video, rather than in your bibliography.
Access millions of images which are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use.
Classroom Video On Demand
Thousands of full length videos and clips, including the 26 minute "The Tale of Genji: Introduction to World LIterature." NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Images and videos in the Online Subscription Databases above may also be used (and must be cited).
Create your MLA bibliography in NoodleTools
If you have any questions or need assistance, please ask!
We love to help!
Find Books in our Library Catalog
There are a dozen secondary source books on a book truck in the Circulation Desk area that you are free to use.
RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.
- A keyword search using a broad term will yield the most hits.
- When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record.
- Click on subject headings to find other books with the same subject headings.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.
Find Images Using Google
On your image search results page:
- Click on Tools.
- Click on Size and choose Large so you get a clear, sharp image for your slide.
- Click on Usage Rights and choose Creative Commons Licenses which allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.
Best Practices for Attribution with examples; from Creative Commons.
Finding and Evaluating Resources on the Internet